Corporate Voices for Working Families and Working Mother Media are announcing today the 30 recipients of our second Best of Congress Award.

When we launched this prestigious recognition in 2008 we had several important goals. We wanted to elevate the discussion and policy debate on working family issues, and we wanted to demonstrate that many members of Congress are tireless advocates for improving the lives of working families.

The recipients of the Best of Congress Award serve as models for what can be accomplished through legislation and a personal commitment to policies that benefit working families.  We are enthusiastic about this opportunity to honor the following as the Best of Congress 2010:

U.S. Senate

  • Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio)
  • Robert Casey (D-Pennsylvania)
  • Mike Crapo (R-Idaho)
  • Christopher Dodd (D-Connecticut)
  • Kirsten Gillibrand (D-New York)
  • Kay Bailey Hutchison (R-Texas)
  • Johnny Isakson (R-Georgia)
  • Herb Kohl (D-Wisconsin)
  • Patty Murray (D-Washington)
  • Arlen Specter (D-Pennsylvania)

U.S. House of Representatives

  • Tammy Baldwin (D-Wisconsin)
  • Russ Carnahan (D-Missouri)
  • Susan Davis (D-California)
  • Rosa DeLauro (D-Connecticut)
  • Mary Fallin (R-Oklahoma)
  • Chaka Fattah (D-Pennsylvania)
  • Raul Grijalva (D-Arizona)
  • John Lewis (D-Georgia)
  • Carolyn Maloney (D-New York)
  • Carolyn McCarthy (D-New York)
  • Cathy McMorris Rodgers (R-Washington)
  • Erik Paulsen (R-Minnesota)
  • Dave Reichert (R-Washington)
  • Peter Roskam (R-Illinois)
  • C.A. “Dutch” Ruppersberger (D-Maryland)
  • Linda Sanchez (D-California)
  • Allyson Schwartz (D-Pennsylvania)
  • Debbie Wasserman Schultz (D-Florida)
  • Lynn Woolsey (D-California)
  • John Yarmuth (D-Kentucky)

Recipients of the Best of Congress Award are featured in the August/September 2010 issue of Working Mother magazine, and we will honor and celebrate the accomplishments of these Congressional leaders at a recognition breakfast to be held Sept. 22 in Washington, D.C.

Fifty-seven members of Congress submitted applications for this award, which is held every two years. Applicants were judged on their voting record, sponsored/co-sponsored legislation, and efforts to promote legislation that supports working families. In addition, applicants were asked to submit policies and practices within their own offices that support working families and flexible workplace options.

Applications were reviewed by a bipartisan steering committee co-chaired by Ted Childs, Founder and Principal of Ted Childs, LLC and Jane Swift, Founder and Principal of WNP Consulting, LLC and former Governor of Massachusetts. Other steering committee members are Pat Schroeder, former President and CEO of the Association of American Publishers and former Congresswoman from Colorado; and Deborah Pryce, attorney at Womble, Carlyle, Sandridge & Rice and former Congresswoman from Ohio.