Working Mother Media and Corporate Voices for Working Families are pleased to honor the winners of this year’s Best of Congress Award at an awards breakfast tomorrow, September 22, in Washington, D.C.

The Best of Congress Award recognizes Congressional excellence in improving the lives of working families through advancing legislation, advocacy, and supporting family-friendly work policies.

This year, Corporate Voices and Working Mother Media recognize 30 Members of Congress from both sides of the aisle and from both Houses of Congress for their leadership and their personal commitment to improving the quality of life for working families across the country.

“As our nation continues to face a number of economic and other issues involving working families, these Members of Congress deserve to be congratulated and recognized nationally for their leadership, advocacy and support of best-practice family-friendly workforce policies,” said Donna Klein, CEO and Executive Chair of Corporate Voices for Working Families.

The recipients of this year’s award have been featured in the August/September 2010 issue of Working Mother Magazine. Tomorrow, we will have the opportunity to personally congratulate and acknowledge them at the highly-awaited awards ceremony, and to hear their acceptance remarks.

It is heartening to see that in this tough economic climate, with  this ceremony taking place on the heels of the U.S. Census Bureau’s newly released poverty figures, Congressional leaders are placing the spotlight on policies to help working families.

The winners of the 2010 Best of Congress Award are:

U.S. Senate

* Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio)
* Robert Casey (D-Pennsylvania)
* Mike Crapo (R-Idaho)
* Christopher Dodd (D-Connecticut)
* Kirsten Gillibrand (D-New York)
* Kay Bailey Hutchison (R-Texas)
* Johnny Isakson (R-Georgia)
* Herb Kohl (D-Wisconsin)
* Patty Murray (D-Washington)
* Arlen Specter (D-Pennsylvania)

U.S. House of Representatives

Tammy Baldwin (D-Wisconsin)
Russ Carnahan (D-Missouri)
Susan Davis (D-California)
Rosa DeLauro (D-Connecticut)
Mary Fallin (R-Oklahoma)
Chaka Fattah (D-Pennsylvania)
Raul Grijalva (D-Arizona)
John Lewis (D-Georgia)
Carolyn Maloney (D-New York)
Carolyn McCarthy (D-New York)
Cathy McMorris Rodgers (R-Washington)
Erik Paulsen (R-Minnesota)
Dave Reichert (R-Washington)
Peter Roskam (R-Illinois)
C.A. “Dutch” Ruppersberger (D-Maryland)
Linda Sanchez (D-California)
Allyson Schwartz (D-Pennsylvania)
Debbie Wasserman Schultz (D-Florida)
Lynn Woolsey (D-California)
John Yarmuth (D-Kentucky)

After the ceremony, we will report back on what the main themes of winners’ remarks are. So stay tuned!